Sex Work and Human Rights

“I am a human being with my own voice.”

Are you doing well

“I am a woman in prostitution. These “Are you doing well?” posters seem popular these days. One of my male clients proudly told me that he himself wrote one, too. He hit me with his fist for not “responding properly” when he told me that. I get beaten up because people think they can do anything with me once they pay me. I get verbally abused. I can’t protect myself against STDs (sexually transmitted diseases). I get harassed. They try to rape me once they know I am involved in prostitution. Some ask me to earn more money without knowing how I earn that money. I am being judged when I visit a gynecologist because I’m an unmarried woman. People scold women like me. They say, “You earn a lot for doing nothing.” But they don’t question men who are rich enough to pay several hundred thousand Won for a sexual service. Even after going through an abortion, I still need to earn money, and without taking a day off, I go off again today to sell sex. I don’t want to live like this anymore. I am not doing well. I am a human being with my own voice.”

 This poster was put up in one of Seoul’s red light districts. It was removed the next day.

 

2 responses

  1. I enjoy reading your blog, Matthias. Keep up the good work! Sounds like the South Korean sex purchase act is not working out too well, just like the ones in Sweden, Norway and Iceland.

    December 28, 2013 at 8:06 pm

    • Much appreciated. The Sex Purchase Act is currently under review by the Supreme Court and a decision was supposed to be made months ago. The Ministry of Gender Equality and Family pushes for the adoption for the Swedish Model, however, so I don’t expect a turn to the better any time soon.

      December 28, 2013 at 8:12 pm

Leave a Reply

