Sex Work and Human Rights

Update #3 | You sent me to India!

Registration Complete!

This week, I received word from the Durbar Mahila Samanwaya Committee (DMSC), co-organisers of the Sex Worker Freedom Festival, that I am most welcome at the conference! As for my participation at the conference, a few details remain to be clarified, and the visa application process seems a little complicated given that I’m a German national with a non-permanent residence in Korea. But the bottom line is: I will go to where the pepper grows and I would like to take this opportunity to thank everyone for your great support, both morally and financially. I continue to be amazed by you and will do my best to honour the trust you set in me.

The fundraiser remains open for the time being as I am still seeking support to cover basic expenses (food & transport) while in India. To help complete my fundraiser, please click on the DONATE NOW button!

Durbar Mahila Samanwaya Committee

‘Durbar’ is a Bengali word that means unbeatable or unstoppable. The Durbar Mahila Samanwaya Committee represents 65,000 male, female and transgender sex workers in India and is active in identifying and challenging the underlying socio-structural factors that help perpetuate the stigmatisation, material deprivation and social exclusion of sex workers. For more information about DMSC, please click here.

Did you know? In 2001, the Durbar Mahila Samanwaya Committee designated March 3rd as annual International Sex Workers’ Rights Day. Click here to find out more.

Related Posts

Update #2 | Send me to India! | Almost there

Update | Send me to India! | Fundraiser at 20%*

Sex Worker Freedom Festival | IAC 2012

Where the pepper grows | Send me to India!

Click on the Banners for more Information

The Sex Worker Freedom Festival is an Official International AIDS Conference 2012 Hub. Supported by Open Society Foundation – Sexual Health and Rights Program, UNAIDS, Dutch Ministry of Foreign Affairs, UNFPA, HIVOS, AIDS Fonds and AIDS 2012 conference secretariat.

Leave a Reply

